Silver Cording Ceremony 2018 Silver Cording Ceremony 2018Temple College has recognized 89 area high school students who are completing its Texas Bioscience Institute (TBI) Middle College program this year.

The TBI Middle College program is a partnership with Temple College and area high schools that allows qualified students to enroll in rigorous STEM-focused dual credit coursework in their junior and senior years of high school. Eighty-eight of this year’s graduates also have qualified to receive an associate of arts degree from Temple College in May.

The students who are completing the program represent 11 Central Texas high schools as well as home-schooled students. On April 11, they were presented with silver honor cords to wear at their respective high school graduation ceremonies to distinguish them as having participated in the TBI program. To qualify for a silver cord, students must successfully complete the TBI curriculum well as 16 hours of job shadowing and 16 hours of community service.

Students completing the TBI program this year and the colleges and universities they will attend are:

Academy High School – Joshua Queen (University of Texas) and Josie Wilder (Texas State University).

Belton High School – Alex Alafa (Tarleton State University), Allison Evatt (Tarleton State University), Channing Marsh (Baylor University), Joshua Meyer (Tarleton State University) and Hannah Smith (Abilene Christian University).

Cameron Yoe High School – Rebekah Ferguson (Undecided) and Diego Martinez (University of Texas at San Antonio).

Chilton High School – Michaela McCord (University of North Texas).

Ellison High School – Aylin Chavez (Texas A&M University at Corpus Christi), Bionca Covington (University of Texas), Lianka I. Espada Reyes (Texas A&M University - Central Texas), Nicolas Feliciano-Gutierrez (Texas A&MUniversity), Brianna Fernandez (Texas A&M University), Jessica Gowers (Undecided), Kaitlyn Grimes (Texas Tech University), Keith Jackson II, (University of Texas), Alyssa McKnight (University of Houston), Madysen Morrow (Stephen F. Austin State University), Matthew Roberts (University of Mary Hardin-Baylor), Daisy Rodriguez (University of Texas) and David Warnke (Temple College – Nursing Program).

Gatesville High School – Laura Gohlke (Tarleton State University).

Harker Heights High School – Zachrieh Alhaj (University of Texas at Arlington), Judah Baptiste (University of Texas), Ellen Bayes (University of North Texas), Alejandra DeChavez (University of Texas), Emily Del Principe (Texas A&M University - Central Texas), Daniella Fernandez (University of Alabama), Alyssa Folger (University of Texas at Arlington), Judson Hayden (University of Texas), Lee Horton (University of Texas), Jin Min Kim (Baylor University), Jennifer Lee (University of Texas), Sonia Lopez (University of Texas), Madigan McDaniel (University of Texas), Jayvaughn Peter (University of Texas), Hannah Peterson (Texas A&M University), Linda Salinas (Texas A&M University) and Mark Styles (United States Military Academy, West Point).

Home Schooled – Josephine Davis (Texas A&M University - Central Texas), Zachary Hunt (Texas A&M University) and Oliver Kwan (University of Mary Hardin-Baylor).

Killeen High School – Kiana Cole (University of Texas), Brianna Garibay (Texas A&M University at Galveston), Amira Lambertis (Texas A&M University), Leilani Nozares (Texas A&M University), Yasmeen Patel (University of Texas), Alana Quinones Garcia (University of Texas at San Antonio), Kalani Smith (Texas State University) and Rosa Velazquez (University of Texas).

Rogers High School – Sophia Adam (University of Texas), Abigail Bruggman (Blinn College), Zoey Davis (Undecided), Savannah Davis (Texas A&M University), Dilon Everett (Tarleton State University).

Salado High School − Haley Howton (Baylor University), Emily Ritch (Texas State University), Jon Whitson (Texas A&M University at Galveston) and Madison Whitson (Texas A&M University).

Shoemaker High School – Leilani Amituanai (University of Texas), Martin Angulo (Texas State University), Burt Cruz II (University of Mary Hardin-Baylor), Kyle Figueroa (Howard Payne University), Crystal Kinsinger (Texas Tech University), Ty’jewel Madry (University of Texas at San Antonio), Makayla McDonald (University of Texas at San Antonio), Maleya Neal (University of Texas at San Antonio), Lexee Romine (University of Texas at Arlington), Carolyn Sherman-Petty (University of Texas at San Antonio), Myra Simon (University of Texas at Arlington), Michae Villegas (Texas State University), Koshon Williams (University of Texas) and Makenzie Wolf (Texas State University).

Temple High School – Alexander Castillo (University of Texas at Permian Basin), Alexis DeGraaff (Texas A&M University), Fisher Dungan (Baylor University), Preston Fowler (Texas State University), Yaritzi Garcia-Montenegro (Tarleton State University), Destry Garza (Tarleton State University), John Hudec (University of Texas), Margarita Melendez (Texas State University), Grace Mellette (University of Mary Hardin-Baylor), Katie Richmond (United States Navy), Mufasa Riley (Texas A&M University), Noah Rivera (University of Texas), Arleth Subiria (United States Air Force) and Pandora Tindle (University of Texas).