Six Temple College faculty and staff members were selected to receive 2020 awards from the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD), an organization committed to promoting and celebrating excellence in teaching, learning and leadership at community and technical colleges.

The recipients are Dr. Gene Rhea Tucker, associate professor of history; Sara Solis, coordinator of adult basic education; Tracey Cooper, executive director of nursing; Allison Mankin, academic advisor; Kim Alsup, simulation coordinator - health professions; and Kim George, associate professor of English.

Due to COVID-19, the 2020 NISOD recipients could not be honored in person, but they are recognized in a commemorative booklet.

The NISOD Excellence Awards were established in 1991 to provide NISOD-member colleges with an opportunity to recognize individuals doing extraordinary work on their campuses. Using their own criteria, NISOD member colleges submit names of faculty and staff members who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment and contribution to their students and colleagues.