Temple College Faculty Jazz, a group of Temple College Department of Music faculty, will present a combined concert with the Temple College Jazz Combos at 12:30 p.m. Tuesday in The Jackson-Graeter Backstage Theater in the Mary Alice Marshall Performing Arts Center. Admission is free.

The faculty will play original compositions and arrangements by group members, encompassing a variety of styles, including swing, fusion and Latin.

Current members include Dr. Colin Mason - saxophone, Dr. Benjamin Irom - piano, Dr. Dan Andersen - guitar, Dr. James Suter - bass, and Norm Bergeron on drums.

The Temple College Student Jazz Combos will perform arrangements of standards by composers Wayne Shorter, Kenny Burrell, Paul Desmond and Thelonious Monk.

In addition, there will be a premiere of two new compositions by former students Alex Buss and Nico Trujillo-Castelblanco.

Members of the two combos include:

  • Eliezer Ortiz and Jonking Orozco – trumpets,
  • Nico Trujillo-Castelblanco – saxophone
  • Alex Buss – trombone and bass
  • Jackson Holt – vibraphone
  • Justin Kirksey and Spencer Messerich – guitars
  • Eric Lara – piano
  • Evan Griffith and Ian Smith – bass
  • Aidan Amling and Nate Spence – drums


Temple College is a dynamic and growing community college that equips thousands of students throughout Central Texas and beyond with the knowledge and skills for 21st century success. Temple College offers more than 75 degree and certificate programs to students who seek to earn credits for transfer, graduate with an associate degree, or complete a certificate for fast entry into the workforce.

Founded in 1926, Temple College has enjoyed an excellent academic reputation for more than 96 years and is nationally recognized for excellence in its programs from visual and performing arts to competitive athletics, and the College has become one of the premiere institutions in the state for education and training of health care providers and advanced manufacturing and workforce development programs. The faculty and staff are committed to providing exceptional quality instruction.